Historic Easton, Massachusetts

The following are historic pictures of Easton and people who played a major role in the history of the town. Click on a picture for more details. These photos are all from the book History of Easton, Mass., by William L. Chaffin, published in 1886 by John Wilson and Son, University Press, Cambridge, MA. Several copies of the book are held by the Ames Free Library (pictured below), Easton's public library. It's also available for purchase from the Easton Historical Society (508-238-7774). Here is the text of one chapter of that book recounting a fascinating tour of Easton in 1886. It contains links to many of these same photos. Compiled by Tom Tullis.

Ames Memorial Hall (1886)
Oakes Ames Memorial Hall
(designed by H. H. Richardson)

Ames Gate-Lodge
Gate-Lodge of Frederick L. Ames
(designed by H. H. Richardson)

Ames Free Library
Ames Free Library
(designed by H. H. Richardson)

Gilmore's Hinge Factory
E. W. Gilmore's Hinge Factory & 
House, North Easton

Unity Church and Parsonage
Unity Church and Parsonage,
North Easton

The Evangelical Church
The Evangelical Congregational
Church of Easton

Morse Thread Mills, South Easton
Thread Mills of E. J. W. Morse & Co.,
South Easton

Ames Shovel Works
Ames Shovel Works,
North Easton

Old Colony Railroad Station
Old Colony Railroad Station,
N. Easton (by H. H. Richardson)


Oldest House in Easton
Oldest House in Easton

Elijah Howard
Elijah Howard
1787 - 1874


Oliver Ames, Sr.
Oliver Ames, Sr.
1779 - 1863


Oakes Ames
Oakes Ames
1804 - 1873

Oliver Ames, Jr.
Oliver Ames, Jr.
1807 - 1877


Governor Oliver Ames
Governor Oliver Ames
1831 - 1895

In addition, here are two old maps of Easton:

Both maps include individual houses and the names of their owners. The maps are quite large so that the individual names may be read. Here is a reduced version of the map of North Easton in 1886, on which you can click some of the historic buildings shown above.



Return to Easton Community Home Page